RSS

It’s raining again.

14 Mar

For the most part, western Washington is beautiful, bountiful and all summer my garden boasts the best green grazing at lunchtime. However, weeks on end of dark days, heavy skies and bone-chill slushy rain is NOT fun. In fact, it’s miserable. In my studio, I enjoy a balmy 64 degrees, but my husband’s wooden boat shop has no heat to speak of – board&batten walls on a cement floor – a damp cement floor – I’m definitely making chili today – hot, HOT chili!

This day makes me think of many 19thc Dutch landscape paintings; beautiful, grey and quiet. And, reminds me of many same-vintage Dutch interior scenes;  velvety black interiors lit by candle light or a solitary shaft of day penetrating blown glass panes. From the Left, a clear band crosses a tile floor to illuminate a single idea. Some of the paintings Van Gogh did of shoes and so forth – even “Potato Eaters” have similar qualities – an artistic inheritance also seen in his brushwork.

“Hands” (secondary title: “In Prayer”) 1995 is a monotype I did a while back when teaching at Bradley University (Peoria IL) It’s part of my own collection and holds significance for me – a reflection of a part of my own odd  journey.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “It’s raining again.

  1. robin weiss

    March 15, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    There is something intimate about folded hands. These invoke an attitude and atmosphere of humble prayer…..Well done!

    Chili! Sounds good but I’m stuck at home today…….Enjoy the rain in your cozy studio!..=]

     

Leave a Reply

 
